Permanent exhibition

From the yarn to the shirt: Textile history live

The diverse, changing craft methods, semi-mechanical and automatic processes for the production  of a textile fabric from the natural fiber up to the finished product are presented. Especially the textile techniques, which are typical for the Wupper Valley: Bleaching, spinning, weaving and braiding.

Since the middle of the 18th century, the period of the increasing „yarn hunger“, the production methods and –processes have changed by accelerated innovations particularly in the technical area. In some sectors the productivity could be increased by more than 200 times. New products could be launched on the market, too, significantly combined with the conversion of linen products to cotton products and also silk: From the simple, colorless or white linen band to colorful patterned ribbons; from shoelaces and braids to the lace production, from the linen sheet to patterned or printed cotton fabrics and silk scarfs.

Textilgeschichte 


Textilgeschichte


Textilgeschichte

From the needlework to the machine: How textile engineering has changed

The decisive upheaval in the textile technology followed in the 18th century with the industrial revolution in England. At a pace as never seen before within 60 years, a centuries-old, partially even millennia old technique, was mechanized and automated. In the textile industry machines for spinning have been developed, which exceeded by far the performance of the old spinning wheels. In connection with water- or steam power the yarn production could be increased almost unlimited.

Somewhat later also handlooms have been replaced by mechanical weaving looms. Spinning and weaving factories were created, with whose mass production the textile craftsmen could not compete any longer. On the continent the industrialization took place a little later than in England; the Wupper Valley was among the pioneer regions. The region furthermore became a location of an early technology transfer, especially from England, France and Belgium. The technical innovations in the production process in turn led to changes in the work flow and in the work organization, which as a result of mechanization was continuously based on the division of labor. During this period the cities of Barmen and Elberfeld developed themselves on the one hand into industrial and commercial centers, but at the same time into social hotspots as well.

Technikgeschichte


Technikgeschichte


Technikgeschichte

Mass misery, housing shortage and child labor: Social consequences of the industrialization process.

The advancing industrialization in the 1830s and 1840s in the Wupper Valley already led to the mass immiseration of the “working class”.

According to the model of the Elberfeld system around 1850 nearly one in five inhabitants were supported. About 18 % of the population lived below the subsistence level. Hunger was part of everyday life, the hygienic conditions in the slums were disastrous. The rich citizens felt themselves responsible, but were powerless in the face of the profound social consequences of the upheaval from handicraft to industrial methods of production.

Numerous immigrants from eastern regions aggravated the housing shortage. Only the construction of rental housing by private investors and the establishment of non-profit construction companies in the 1870s eased the tension on the housing market.
The child labor increased strongly in the early industrial phase and rose to around 1890 to its highest level. The reasons for child labor were and still are: Poverty, lack of education, greed for profit.

The Church, too, did not find an effective solution of the social question. Solely by religious life-style the material problems of the workers and craftsmen could not be improved. Only in Bismarck´s social legislation and in the Weimar years of reform their emergency could be reduced.

Sozialgeschichte


Sozialgeschichte


Sozialgeschichte

Religious history of Wuppertal

Since the Reformation the Wupper Valley is a stronghold for different religions and religious groups. In the 16th century the community of Elberfeld converted almost unanimously to Protestantism, whereas other parts of the Wupper Valley remained catholic. This was unique at that time in Germany and only possible, because  the Bergisch Dukes intervened scarcely in the religion of their subjects. The Wupper Valley became a place, where several denominations coexisted and where they were conscious themselves of their common grounds, but above all, too, their disagreements.

After the efforts of the Reformation the lived faith withered away to a pure doctrinal edifice. The emergence of Pietism is to be interpreted as a countermovement against such a rigid understanding of faith. In the 18th century citizens of Elberfeld and Barmen took the religion in their own hands. They founded religious domestic communities and joined themselves together to spiritual circles. Even though these groups had varying levels of strictness, they were still unified by a lived piety and their belief in the infallibility of the Bible. Missionary and Bible societies were founded. The aim was, that man, more than before, should cooperate in building the kingdom of God.

Out of this movement, mixed with the new ideas of enlightenment, in the 19th century developed a Protestant ethic out of the Calvinistic predestination, in which work is elevated to a main purpose in life and to a church service. The philosopher and sociologist Max Weber (1864-1920) considered this to be a religious view between “soul´s salvation and balance sheet”. Finally the divine revelation stepped back in favor of a secular morality. A religious persuasion developed, in which God took an increasingly distance to the people and in which the believer was purely subject to God´s grace and his all-outstanding will. Due to the distance of God a divine intervention into the everyday life became less and less communicable. Thereby the influence of the church on human behavior became increasingly lost in the Wupper Valley, too.

Dauerausstellung

Vom Garn zum Hemd: Textilgeschichte live

Vorgestellt werden die diversen, sich wandelnden handwerklichen, halbmechanischen und maschinellen Verfahren der Herstellung eines textilen Gewebes von der Naturfaser bis zum fertigen Produkt. Vor allem die für das Wuppertal typischen textilen Techniken: Bleichen, Spinnen, Weben und Flechten.

Seit der Mitte des 18. Jahrhunderts, der Zeit des anhebenden „Garnhungers“, verändern sich die Produktionsverfahren und -prozesse durch beschleunigte Innovationen vor allem im technischen Bereich. In manchen Sektoren konnte die Produktivität um mehr als das 200fache gesteigert werden. Auch konnten neue Produkte auf den Markt gebracht werden, verbunden wesentlich mit der Umstellung von Leinen- auf Baumwollprodukte und auch Seide: Vom einfachen, farblosen oder weißen Leinenband zu bunten, gemusterten Bändern; von Schnürriemen und Litzen zur Spitzenproduktion; vom Leinentuch zu gemusterten oder bedruckten Baumwollgeweben und Seidentüchern.

Textilgeschichte 


Textilgeschichte

Von der Handarbeit zur Maschine: Textiltechnik im Wandel

Der entscheidende Umbruch in der Textiltechnik erfolgte im 18. Jahrhundert mit der Industriellen Revolution in England. In einem noch nie da gewesenen Tempo wurde innerhalb von 60 Jahren eine jahrhunderte-, teilweise sogar jahrtausende alte Technik mechanisiert und automatisiert. Im Textilgewerbe wurden Maschinen zum Spinnen entwickelt, die die Leistung der alten Spinnräder weit übertrafen. In Verbindung mit Wasser- oder Dampfkraft konnte die Garnproduktion fast unbegrenzt gesteigert werden.

Etwas später wurden auch Handwebstühle durch mechanische Webstühle ersetzt. Es entstanden Spinn- und Webfabriken, mit deren Massenproduktion die Textilhandwerker nicht mehr konkurrieren konnten. Auf dem Kontinent fand die Industrialisierung etwas später statt als in England; zu den Vorreiterregionen gehörte das Tal der Wupper. Die Region wurde zugleich Standort eines frühen Technologietransfers, besonders aus England, Frankreich und Belgien. Die technischen Neuerungen im Produktionsprozess hatten wiederum Veränderungen im Arbeitsablauf und in der Arbeitsorganisation zur Folge, die im Zuge der Mechanisierung fortlaufend arbeitsteiliger gestaltet wurden. Die Städte Barmen und Elberfeld entwickelten sich während dieser Periode einerseits zu industriellen und kommerziellen Mittelpunkten, aber zugleich auch zu sozialen Brennpunkten.

Technikgeschichte


Technikgeschichte

Massenelend, Wohnungsnot und Kinderarbeit: Soziale Folgen des Industrialisierungsprozesses

Die fortschreitende Industrialisierung führte bereits in den 1830er und 1840er Jahren im Wuppertal zur Massenverelendung der „arbeitenden Klassen“.

Nach dem Muster des Elberfelder Systems wurde fast jeder fünfte Einwohner um 1850 unterstützt. Etwa 18 % der Bevölkerung lebten unter dem Existenzminimum. Hunger war alltäglich, die hygienischen Verhältnisse in den Elendsvierteln waren katastrophal. Die reichen Bürger fühlten sich verantwortlich, waren aber ohnmächtig gegenüber den tiefgreifenden sozialen Folgen des Umbruchs von der handwerklichen zur industriellen Produktionsweise.

Zahlreiche Zuwanderer aus östlichen Gebieten verschärften die Wohnungsnot. Erst der Mietwohnungsbau privater Investoren und die Gründung gemeinnütziger Baugesellschaften in den 1870er Jahren entspannte die Lage am Wohnungsmarkt.
Die Kinderarbeit nahm in der frühindustriellen Phase stark zu und stieg bis etwa 1890 auf ihren höchsten Stand. Die Gründe für Kinderarbeit waren bis heute: Armut, fehlende Bildung, Profitgier.

Auch die Kirche fand keine effektive Lösung der sozialen Frage. Allein durch fromme Lebensführung waren die materiellen Probleme der Arbeiter und Handwerker nicht zu verbessern. Erst in der Sozialgesetzgebung Bismarcks und den Weimarer Reformjahren konnte ihre Notlage abgemildert werden.

Sozialgeschichte


Sozialgeschichte

Religionsgeschichte Wuppertals

Das Tal der Wupper ist seit der Reformation ein Hort für verschiedene Religionen und religiöse Gruppierungen.  Im 16. Jahrhundert trat die Gemeinde Elberfeld fast geschlossen zum Protestantismus über, während andere Teile des ‚Wuppertales‘ katholisch blieben. Dies war zu der Zeit einzigartig in Deutschland und nur möglich, da die bergischen Herzöge kaum in die Religion ihrer Untertanen eingriffen. Das ‚Wuppertal‘ wurde zu einem Ort, an dem mehrere Konfessionen nebeneinander existierten und sich ihrer Gemeinsamkeiten, aber vor allem auch ihrer Unterschiede bewusst waren.

Nach den Bemühungen der Reformation verkümmerte der gelebte Glaube zu einem reinen Lehrgebäude. Das Aufkommen des  Pietismus ist als Gegenbewegung gegen ein derartig starres Glaubensverständnis zu verstehen. Elberfelder und Barmer Bürger nahmen im 18. Jahrhundert die Religion selbst in die Hand. Sie gründeten religiöse Hausgemeinschaften und schlossen sich zu spirituellen Zirkeln zusammen. Auch wenn diese Gruppierungen unterschiedlich streng waren, einte sie doch eine gelebte Frömmigkeit und Bibeltreue. Es gründeten sich Missions- und Bibelgesellschaften. Ziel war, dass der Mensch, stärker als zuvor, am Bau des Reiches Gottes auf Erden mitwirken sollte.

Aus dieser Bewegung, vermischt mit dem neuen Gedanken der Aufklärung,  bildete sich im 19. Jahrhundert aus der calvinistischen Prädestination eine protestantische Ethik heraus, in der die Arbeit zu einem zentralen Lebensinhalt und zum Gottesdienst erhoben wird. Der Philosoph und Soziologe Max Weber (1864-1920) sah hierin eine religiöse Auffassung zwischen „Seelenheil und Geschäftsbilanz“. Schließlich trat die göttliche Offenbarung zugunsten einer weltlichen Moral zurück. Es entwickelte sich eine Glaubensrichtung, in der Gott eine immer größere Distanz zu den Menschen einnahm und der Gläubige rein Gottes Gnade und seinem alles überragenden Willen unterworfen war. Durch die Ferne Gottes wurde ein göttliches Eingreifen in den Alltag immer weniger vermittelbar. Dadurch ging der Einfluss der Kirche auf das Handeln der Menschen auch im ‚Wuppertal‘ immer mehr verloren.

Wenn Sie mehr zur Religionsgeschichte in Wuppertal wissen möchten, können Sie sich einen ausführlicheren Bericht als pdf herunter laden.