More about Friedrich Engels

The Engels family originally owned five residential buildings in the former Unterbarmen marsh. The oldest, the parent house (I) of the Engels family, south of the today´s museum area, was completely removed by railway construction (1842). From the parent house (II) only remains of the foundation walls (below the today´s museum courtyard) can still be seen.

The third house (formerly Bruch (marsh) No. 127) is now home to the Engels-Museum, next to this another, bigger and also more manorial equipped house of the family. Added to this there originally still existed the birthplace of Friedrich Engels, which was destroyed during the war (1943). Today its former location is evident in a memorial stone.

The museum long ago has gained recognition in the region as an extracurricular place of learning: Since its opening it has been visited by more than 130.000 school children in a class group from all different types of school. These pupils are guided by own educational specialists. Great value is placed on this pedagogical work, because it seems important to us, to acquaint young people with historical questions and to invite them to linger in a historical epoch. But a visit to the museum should also be fun, should convey enjoyment in one´s own discoveries and researches, without absolutely holding up any pedagogical point of view.

In the historical Engels-House there is an exhibition with original documents about life and works of Friedrich Engels, whose roots are located in Wuppertal.

Mehr über Friedrich Engels

Die Familie Engels besaß ursprünglich fünf Wohnhäuser im ehemaligen Unterbarmer Bruch. Das älteste, das Stammhaus (I) der Familie Engels, südlich des heutigen Museumsgeländes, wurde durch den Eisenbahnbau (1842) vollends beseitigt. Vom Stammhaus (II) sind nur noch Reste der Grundmauern (unter dem heutigen Museumshof) erhalten.

Im dritten Haus (ehemals Bruch Nr. 127) befindet sich heute das Engels - Museum, neben diesem ein weiteres, größeres und auch herrschaftlicher ausgestattetes Haus der Familie. Hinzu kam ursprünglich noch das während des Krieges (1943) zerstörte Geburtshaus von Friedrich Engels, von dessen einstigem Standort heute ein Gedenkstein zeugt.

Das Museum hat als außerschulischer Lernort in der Region längst Anerkennung gefunden: Seit seiner Eröffnung wurde es von mehr als 130.000 Schulkindern aller Schultypen im Klassenverband besucht. Diese Schüler werden durch eigene pädagogische Fachkräfte geführt. Auf diese pädagogische Arbeit wird größter Wert gelegt, denn es erscheint uns wichtig, junge Menschen mit historischen Fragestellungen vertraut zu machen und zum Verweilen in einer geschichtlichen Epoche einzuladen. Ein Museumsbesuch soll aber auch Spaß machen, Freude vermitteln am eigenen Entdecken und Forschen, ohne dabei unbedingt den pädagogischen Zeigefinger hochzuhalten.

Im historischen Engels-Haus befindet sich eine Ausstellung mit Originaldokumenten zu Leben und Werk von Friedrich Engels, dessen Wurzeln im Wuppertal liegen.